

Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board

Agenda

Thursday, 2 June 2016 11.00 am

Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

To: Members of the Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board

cc: Named officers for briefing purposes



Guidance notes for members and visitors Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG

Please read these notes for your own safety and that of all visitors, staff and tenants.

Welcome!

Layden House is located directly opposite the Turnmill Street entrance to Farringdon station, which is served by the Circle, Hammersmith & City, and Metropolitan lines as well as the Thameslink national rail route.

Security

Layden House has a swipe card access system meaning that a swipe enabled security passes will be required to access the lifts and floors 1-5.

Most LGA governance structure meetings will take place on the **ground floor** of Layden House which is open access and therefore does not require a swipe enabled security pass. **Access** to the rest of the building (floors 1-5) is via swipe enabled security passes.

When you visit Layden House, please show your Local Government House security pass to reception and they will provide you with a temporary pass which will allow you access to floors 1 5 if required. Please don't forget to sign out at reception and return your security pass when you depart.

If you do not have a LGH Security Pass, please email <u>member services</u> with your name and a recent photo and a pass will be made for you. You can pick this up from the Layden House reception desk on your next visit.

Fire instructions

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, vacate the building immediately via the nearest fire exit onto Turnmill Street and take the next turning on your left – Benjamin Street to St John's Gardens. DO NOT USE THE LIFTS.

DO NOT STOP TO COLLECT PERSONAL BELONGINGS.

DO NOT RE-ENTER BUILDING UNTIL AUTHORISED TO DO SO.

Soft Seating Area

There is a small soft seating area on Floor 2 which will also operate as an 'Open Council' area for visiting members and officers from member councils. Please note however that unlike Open Council, this area does not have tea and coffee facilities, nor access to computers.

Toilets

There are accessible toilets on the Ground Floor, 2nd and 4th floors.

Accessibility

Parking is available at the rear of the building for Blue Badge holders, accessed via the Turks Head Yard, North underpass. Disabled WCs are situated on the ground and 4th floors. An induction loop system is available in the 5th floor conference venue. For further information please contact the Facilities Management Helpdesk on 020 7664 3015.

Guest WiFi in Layden House

WiFi is available in Layden House for visitors. It can be accessed by enabling "Wireless Network Connection" on your computer and connecting to LGA-Free-WiFi. You will then need to register, either by completing a form or through your Facebook or Twitter account (if you have one). You only need to register the first time you log on.



Further help

Please speak either to staff at the main reception on the ground floor, if you require any further help or information. You can find the LGA website at www.local.gov.uk

Why have the LGA's Headquarters moved?

The LGA has temporarily relocated from Local Government House (LGH) in Smith Square to Layden House in Farringdon, effective from Monday 31 October 2016. This is to allow extensive refurbishment work to be carried out to LGH.

The refurbishment works will see the ground floor conference centre and all meeting rooms fully refurbished. Floors 1, 2 and 3 will be upgraded and released for commercial letting to enable the LGA to maximise the income from this building as part of its drive for financial sustainability. A new and larger Open Council will be located on the seventh floor. The refurbishment is expected to last for nine months and we expect to be back in LGH by September 2017.

We appreciate your understanding and flexibility during this time.



Environment, Economy, Housing & Transport Board 2 June 2016

There will be a meeting of the Environment, Economy, Housing & Transport Board at **11.00 am on Thursday, 2 June 2016** Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ.

A sandwich lunch will be available after the meeting.

Attendance Sheet:

Please ensure that you sign the attendance register, which will be available in the meeting room. It is the only record of your presence at the meeting.

Political Group meetings:

The group meetings will take place in advance of the meeting. Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

Apologies:

<u>Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.</u>

Conservative: Group Office: 020 7664 3223 email: Igaconservatives@local.gov.uk Group Office: 020 7664 3334 Labour.GroupLGA@local.gov.uk Labour: email: Independent: Group Office: 020 7664 3224 email: independent.grouplga@local.gov.uk libdem@local.gov.uk **Liberal Democrat:** Group Office: 020 7664 3235 email:

Location:

A map showing the location of Layden House is printed on the back cover.

LGA Contact:

Gareth Greatrex 0207 664 3381 / gareth.greatrex@local.gov.uk

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of up to £6.70 per hour is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.



Environment, Economy, Housing & Transport Board – Membership 2016/2017

Councillor	Authority	
Conservative (9)		
Cllr Martin Tett (Vice Chairman)	Buckinghamshire County Council	
Cllr Steve Count	Cambridgeshire County Council	
Cllr Jim Harker OBE	Northamptonshire County Council	
Cllr Jason Ablewhite	Huntingdonshire District Council	
Cllr Simon Cooke	Bradford Metropolitan District Council	
Cllr David Westley	West Lancashire Borough Council	
Cllr Peter Fleming OBE	Sevenoaks District Council	
Cllr Stephen Parker (Observer)	Hart District Council	
Cllr Catherine Rankin	Tunbridge Wells Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Rob Blackman	Lewes District Council	
Cllr Mark Mills-Bishop	Broxbourne Borough Council	
Labour (9)		
Cllr Peter Box CBE (Chair)	Wakefield Metropolitan District Council	
Cllr Timothy Moore	Liverpool City Council	
Cllr Tony Newman	Croydon Council	
Cllr Ed Turner	Oxford City Council	
Cllr Alyson Barnes	Rossendale Borough Council	
Cllr Gillian Campbell	Blackpool Council	
Cllr Simon Greaves	Bassetlaw District Council	
Cllr Andy Hull	Islington Council	
Cllr Rishi Shori	Bury Metropolitan Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Sarah Russell	Derby City Council	
Independent (2)		
Cllr Julian German (Deputy	Cornwall Council	
Chair)		
Cllr Graham Whitham	Sutton London Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Andrew Cooper	Kirklees Metropolitan Council	
Cllr Mike Haines	Teignbridge District Council	
Cllr Anne Hawkesworth	Bradford Metropolitan District Council	
Cllr Geoff Knight	Lancaster City Council	
111 15 (2)		
Liberal Democrat (2)	Footbalab Borovak Cov. "	
Cllr Keith House (Deputy Chair)	Eastleigh Borough Council	
Cllr Adele Morris	Southwark Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Simon Galton	Harborough District Council	



Agenda

Environment, Economy, Housing & Transport Board

Thursday 2 June 2016

11.00 am

Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

	Item	Page	Time
1.	Declarations of Interest		
2.	Major Roads for the Future - David Quarmby	1 - 8	
3.	End of Year Report	9 - 12	
4.	Update Report	13 - 22	
5.	Minutes of the previous meeting	23 - 28	
6.	LGA conference paper on devolution	29 - 52	
7.	Emerging outcomes of the Housing Commission	53 - 61	

Date of Next Meeting: Tuesday, 15 November 2016, 11.00 am, Rooms A&B, Ground Floor, Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG